COVID 19Health

Ireland removes Zimbabwe on mandatory hotel quarantine list

Zimbabwean passport

By Nyasha Mutena

Zimbabwe and 22 other countries have been removed from Ireland’s list of designated States for mandatory hotel quarantine, the Minister for Health in that country, Stephen Donnelly announced.

This means that Zimbabweans arriving in Ireland will no longer have to quarantine in hotels after the requirement was lifted. However, the Minister emphasized that those without valid proof of vaccination or recovery arriving in Ireland from countries on the list will be required to enter mandatory hotel quarantine.

A negative PCR test is also required for people travelling from these states. For those with valid proof of vaccination, they need to provide a negative test and also provide evidence of another negative PCR test from day five onwards to end their self-quarantine. If they are required to enter mandatory hotel quarantine, they are able to leave once they have a negative test result from day ten going onwards.

Other countries removed from the mandatory hotel quarantine list are Bangladesh, Botswana, Cuba, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eswatini, Fiji, Georgia, India, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Pakistan, Paraguay, Russia, South Africa, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Uganda and Uruguay.